Welcome Back Wildcat

3pb51n

Hey there Wildcats!

I know it’s been awhile but everyone, including this blog needs a summer rest. I hope you all are getting in the swing of this semester and enjoying your friday. However, before the “weekend” starts [because we all know thursday is an unofficial start haha] I just wanted to do another introduction for those of you who don’t know me. I’m Kenna, I’m a senior here at UNH and I work with SHARPP the Sexual Harassment And Rape Prevention Program. I’m going to be updating this blog on Fridays now and you can think of it as a weekend send off. Now before you guys get all worried about what I have to say I wanted to provide some information about what we do here in our wonderful office located at Wolf House.

Sexual assault, harassment and rape happens. That’s an undeniable fact. It happens in your hometown, in the city, in the country. It happens at people’s places of work, out around their town and yes it happens here at our college and any university in the world.

Now what I want you all to understand about us here at UNH is something we all know. We. Are. Awesome. SHARPP is a program model for universities across the country. We are one of the few crisis centers located on a college campus exclusively for our college’s students, friends, family and faculty. And for you Democrats out here Biden did come here in 2011 to personally congratulate SHARPP on its commitment to stop violence against women. SO we are WHITE HOUSE APPROVED…NBD…

Now a little 411 what we do here at SHARPP isn’t say how horrible our population is in concerns to sexual assault. We aren’t sitting here calling everyone an offender. What our purpose is for you, the general UNH population, is to provide education, awareness and yes crisis services for those who need them. We are committed to a happy healthy and safe college campus. We also love to give out free things like our famous SHARPP Pens, candy and obviously condoms. What more do you need?

So for those of you who’ve never read my blog what I do here is talk about issues regarding college sexual assault along with whatever is going on in current news that we all have questions on. This is a free forum where you can post questions or comments. I’ll respond and no I won’t bite your head off. College is about differences of opinion and gaining new understandings. So if you see something I say and you want to challenge it you can be my guest. I’m not perfect nor do I know everything, despite being a fountain of knowledge.

So now that I’ve gone on my spiel I just want to say have fun this weekend kiddos. UNH is a great place especially at night. I only will reinforce what you’ve already heard in your life. Be safe. Make wise choices. Get consent before you do something, I promise it’s ALOT sexier than it sounds especially for you vocal people ;).

Now get out there!

Be Safe Wildcats!

h5FAE4896

About kickinitwithkenna

SHARPP Blogger UNH Student

Posted on September 13, 2013, in Campus Events, Consent, Dating and Relationships, Rape Culture, Sexual Assault and Harrassment, SHARPP Events. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment